10 Lepers…And Me

After all of my years in Sunday School at Southern Baptist churches scattered across the nation, my time in numerous Bible and theology classes in undergrad, and the last eight years spent in a directed and intentional study of the Holy Bible, I don’t know how I missed this verse in Luke: ” And as they were going, they were cleansed.” (Luke 17:14b, NASB) Not “Jesus made them well right then and there.” Not “Jesus raised His hand and their mutilated skins were healed.” But “as they were going, they were cleansed.” Hmmm. One can only assume that Jesus Christ’s healing/cleansing of a disease (that made the men outcasts over time) had then required a process set in motion by the mercy of God. A process. Not an instant, not what they wanted right away. But a healing and good process. 

If I read the entire passage, which I highly encourage you to do since the Bible is not designed for piecemeal consumption, I find that those lepers begged for mercy and received. In a process. What’s more, only one of them, a Samaritan, returned to express gratitude. The other men went on and away.

I identify with that Samaritan. I, too, am an unlikely worshipper. I too, want to be healed. I, too, want the blessing. God does not always do it in the way, or the timeframe, that I would prefer. In fact, it almost never goes as I plan. I have to go through the process. and when I step out in faith, and do His will and submit to the process, I am made grateful. I am made well. I am made aware of the goodness of a good God. Amen.

Leave a Reply

