Against the noise.

Life is noisy, yes? Full of children and sick parents and traffic and work deadlines and too-full calendars heaped on over-worked shoulders. And that’s just the tangible stuff. Our inner lives are noisy, too. A cacophony of grief and shame and joy and sorrow and worry and trying to be the best of ourselves when we rarely offer ourselves the best. Too much noise.

It is no wonder we are all so desperately tired. I see it, sisters. I see those bags under your eyes that no concealer can conceal. I see the way your shoulders drop when someone pokes fun too close to your heart or delivers a lecture you just didn’t need TODAY. I’ve watched you slip off to another room to wipe away tears or remain silent when you wanted to scream.

I know how you weep, sisters. I receive texts  and phone calls of pains at work, pains at home, pains in broken marriages, pains deep within the heart. I’ve held hands at babies’ sickbeds and deathbeds, I’ve listened when you just couldn’t take anymore, when a husband left, or a sister betrayed. And you’ve listened to me: listened to me claw my way out of depression, listened to me weep over a broken heart, sat beside me silently  and lovingly when my people die.

That’s a lot of noise for a life, for a heart that longs to beat and live well, for a mouth that wants to laugh more than it holds back tears. That’s a lot of noise for you to bear, for all of us to bear.

Let’s all take a step out of the daily ordinary and breathe. We weren’t made to be emotional and robotic marathoners in this life. We’re human but we rarely acknowledge it. So let’s be human for a moment. Let’s breathe a little. Maybe a lot. Let’s just leave the dishes for one night and let the dirt settle and simply settle down in our souls for a moment.

The noise doesn’t allow much time for that. I know. But we are so much bigger and brighter than the noise. And we are designed for bigger and brighter things. Just breathe. That you’ve made it this far means you are already a resilient being. And the One who loves and saves will be there to breathe fresh life into your lungs when you have exhausted your resources. He loves you, tired and noisy and weary, all. And He designed you for rest. Fight against the noise. It will never serve you well.

Find rest for your soul. He is waiting, patient and true.

REST VISUAL

 

28 “Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.” ~ Matthew 11:28-30

 

Leave a Reply

